Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Phillips Co. 4-H achievement recognized PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

County 4-H members, leaders and families celebrated the 2008-2009 4-H year with their annual achievement program at the Peerless Center in Holyoke Sunday, Oct. 11.

Club and individual awards were presented at the program, which concluded the Oct. 4-10 National 4-H Week celebration.

A ceremony with the American and 4-H flags, pledges and National Anthem opened the program, with flags carried by 4-H council members Briar Bergner and Janna Smith and singing led by Ella Stewart. Recognition was given to donors and family members present.

Dennis Kaan, Golden Plains Area Extension director, was introduced as Phillips County’s current interim agent.

Appreciation was given to the Haxtun-Fleming Herald and to the Holyoke Enterprise for their continued support of the 4-H program throughout the year and during National 4-H Week, Oct. 4-10, as well as to the Phillips County Commissioners for ongoing financial support.

Parade of Champion winners from the county fair as well as State Fair exhibitors were also recognized.

Ella Stewart, delegate to Citizenship Washington Focus in June, gave a PowerPoint presentation of what she saw and learned during her week in the nation’s capital.

PhilCo 4-H Council officers for the year included president and senator Krista Schafer, vice president and alternate senator Janna Smith, secretary Erin Vieselmeyer, treasurer and alternate senator Sara Kumm, reporter Molly Brandt and senator Briar Bergner.

Carcass data winners from fair test results are as follows:

—Beef: Jeni Boerner, overall beef carcass quality, overall fed beef value and champion production beef; Krista Schafer, reserve overall fed beef value; Mariah Struckmeyer, champion beef rate of gain; Brandon Struckmeyer, reserve champion beef rate of gain.

—Lambs: Josilyn Lutze, champion lamb carcass quality; Seth Thompson, champion production lamb; and Tyler Tempel, champion lamb rate-of-gain.

—Swine: Taylor Hendrix, overall swine carcass quality and champion production market swine.

—Goats: Patricia Adams, overall goat carcass quality; and Brandon Struckmeyer, champion production goat and champion goat rate-of-gain.

Families who hosted exchange 4-H members and chaperones from Northwest Illinois in late June were honored with pins. They included Darrin and Shannon Long and MaKenzie, first-year volunteer; Dave and ChristiAnne Gibson and Katie, first-year member; Loren and Patty Hendrix and Taylor, first-year member; Damon and Pam Struckmeyer, Mariah and Sid, first-year member; Del and Jen Struckmeyer and Brandon, first-year member; Denise Smith and Janna; Alan and Joyce Strong and Brian; Phil and Stacey Geilert; and Randy and Joy Schafer.

Year pins given for volunteers and mentors who help with county 4-Hers and not in specific clubs went to Jim Eastman, first year, archery; Renee Weis, first year, horse; Troy Bishop, first year, shooting sports/.22 rifle; Tina Kramer, sixth year, Cloverbuds; Ron Anderson, 10th year, shooting sports/.22 rifle, air pistol and air rifle; 20th year, Robert Jacobs, 20th year, leathercraft; and Dale Atteberry, 35th year, leathercraft.

Club awards were announced with gold awards and gold charter seals going to Town and Country, Raising Ranchers, Paoli Hustlers, Holyoke Centennial, Challengers and Better Beef Makers.

Awards for members in the six Phillips County 4-H clubs are as follows:

—Town and Country: Keegan Shaw, Cloverbud, Measure Up with 4-H tool; Jarrett Woodhead, jr. air rifle, shooting sports; Perry Garrett, sr. overall archery, shooting sports; Cami Elliott, blue ribbon, treasurer’s book; Joyce Strong, six-year leader pin.

—Raising Ranchers: Janessa Lutze, Cloverbud, Measure Up with 4-H tool; Corben McCallum, Cloverbud, Measure Up with 4-H tool, first-year pin; Taylar Denbo, Bethany Gibbs, Hannah Gibbs and Gage Tuell, first-year pins and Measure Up with 4-H tools; Erin Lebsack, 10-year pin.

Gage Tuell, top shotgun jr. shooter; Trae McCallum, top shotgun sr. shooter; Tanner Smith, int. reserve grand champion overall livestock record book; Glen and Ranae McCallum, first-year leader pins.

—Paoli Hustlers: Ciera Schelling, Cloverbud, Measure Up with 4-H tool, first-year member pin. More first-year member pins and Measure Up with 4-H tools: Nicholas Duvall, Dawson Knode, MaKenzie Long, Marissa Schelling, Tyler Tempel and Riley Thompson, Measure Up with 4-H tool and first-year pins; Wyatt Bishop, Hannah Gillmore and Kody Timm, five-year pins.

Elise Atkins, traveling trophy for grand champion overall gardening; Wyatt Bishop, most improved int. air rifle, top shotgun shooter, Nick Duvall, top int. air rifle; MaKenzie Long, beginner horse patch for level 1 tests, written and riding; Janna Smith, horse patch for level 2, written and riding;

Paoli Hustlers, horse herdsman award, sheep herdsman award thanks to Kaylee Ham.

Leaders include Tammie Timm with eight years as an organizational leader, Carolyn Davis with three years and Denise Smith with two years as co-leaders.

—Holyoke Centennial: Austen Struckmeyer and Baylor Struckmeyer, Cloverbuds, one-year member pins, Measure Up with 4-H tool; Joel Bencomo, one-year member pin, Measure Up with 4-H tool; Brandon Struckmeyer and Sidney Struckmeyer, five-year member pins.

Jessica Martinez, beginner horse level patch, level 1 written and riding test; Krista Schafer, graduating senior; Holyoke Centennial, swine herdsman award.

Retiring leaders Gail and Steve Schafer, 15-year leader pins. New leaders for next year are Del and Jen Struckmeyer.

—Challengers: Lauren Herman, Cloverbud, first-year member pin, Measure Up with 4-H tool; Emily Jelden, Lauren Bergner and Josie Herman, Cloverbuds, Measure Up with 4-H tools; Nick Ortner and Drew Stewart, five-year pins.

Tristan Sullivan, junior overall archery award; Nick Ortner, grand champion int. livestock record book.

Anna Jelden, historian and Molly Brandt, photographer, overall scrapbook; Briar Bergner, overall reporter’s book; Luke Stewart, overall secretary’s book; Nick Ortner, overall treasurer’s book.

Mariane Ortner continued this year as the main organizational leader in Challengers. Co-leaders included Harvey and Nancy Colglazier and Troy and Mardi Stewart. Retiring leader is Nancy Colglazier after 12 years. Trudy Herman will serve as a leader for the new 4-H year.

—Better Beef Makers: Braden Anderson, Kaylee Camblin and Sarah Razo, Cloverbuds, Measure Up with 4-H tools; Taylor Hendrix, Trenton Huffman, Emma Roll and Lane Stapleton, first-year member pins, Measure Up with 4-H tools.

Sara Kumm, grand champion senior livestock record book; Erin Vieselmeyer, reserve grand champion senior livestock record book; Austin Vieselmeyer, grand champion junior livestock record book; Ty Camblin, reserve grand champion junior livestock record book; Taylor Hendrix, grand champion and reserve grand champion 8-year-old livestock record book.

Alex Vieselmeyer, most-improved shooter in air rifle; Austin Vieselmeyer, top shooter in .22; Taylor Hendrix, traveling trophy, horse sportsmanship, horse beginner patch level 1 written and riding tests. Better Beef Makers, beef herdsman award.

Leaders this year were Tina and Brent Vieselmeyer, with assistance from Kris and Marla Camblin.

Retiring volunteer leaders recognized at the program included Tina Kramer, six years with Cloverbuds, Town and Country 4-H Club; Stacey Geilert, seven years, PhilCo 4-H Council leader advisor, Haxtun Pioneers 4-H Club; Phil Geilert, seven years, Haxtun Pioneers 4-H Club, sheep, Velcro wall/bouncer; Tammie Timm, eight years, Paoli Hustlers; Gail Schafer and Steve Schafer, 15 years, Holyoke Centennial.

For information about the 4-H program in Phillips County or to ask about Ella Stewart’s Washington Focus program for your organization, contact the Extension office at 854-3616.