Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Young farmers to meet in Sterling Feb. 5-6 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

The 41st Colorado Young Farmers Educational Association Institute will be held Feb. 5-6 at the Ramada Inn in Sterling.

Over 150 members, spouses, advisors and guests are expected to attend. The members of the Arickaree Young Farmer Chapter are hosts for the Institute. Past state officers are invited to attend.

The state officers coordinating the activities include: President Maureen Whittington, Fleming, Northeastern Junior College Chapter; Northeastern Vice President Allan Carlson, Longmont, St. Vrain Chapter; Southeastern Vice President Andi Begler, Fort Lupton, Front Range Chapter; Western Vice President Ben Christensen, Blanca, Alamosa Chapter; Secretary Don Wright, Fort Lupton, Front Range Chapter; Treasurer Eric Kipp, Yuma, Yuma Chapter; Reporter Dan Ross, Yuma, Yuma Chapter and Immediate Past President Greg Wright, Brighton, Front Range Chapter.

The delegates representing their respective chapters will elect officers for the 2010-11 year and conduct business pertaining to the Association.

The Friday morning educational workshop, entitled “The Wind Is Blowing In A New Direction,” will be presented by Mike Guilloz with Enxco and Bruce Kokes, landowner. The Friday luncheon entertainment will be, “Daron Little, Working Ranch Cowboy, Singer and Songwriter” from Encampment, Wyo. The Friday afternoon workshop, entitled “The Life Savers of Life,” will be presented by Sharleen Riemenschneider, Financial Advisor, with Edward Jones.

The Friday evening theme will feature a NASCAR Tail Gate Party including a variety of fun filled activities.

The 2010 Colorado Spokesperson for Agriculture Contest will be held Saturday morning. The five winners will be announced at the noon luncheon. The winner will represent Colorado in the National contest in December 2010 in Monterey, Calif.

The Saturday afternoon program will include a Trade Show Program with special door prize drawings and a “Searching For Funding During These Times” workshop.

The Saturday evening awards banquet will include the announcement of the following award recipients: Honorary Members, Outstanding Chapter Community Service Award, Outstanding Winner and Runner Up Chapter, Outstanding Advisor, Outstanding Agri-Business Award, Outstanding Agri-Service Award and Outstanding Regional Young Farmers. The annual Case IH scholarship tractor auction will also highlight the activities.

The 2010-11 newly elected officers will be installed to conclude the banquet activities.