Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
FBLA recognizes chapter effort for 'Simply the Best' PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

“Simply the Best” is the Future Business Leaders of America focus this year, and Holyoke FBLA chapter members acknowledged success at the April 27 Recognition Night.

Emphasizing the attributes of FBLA, 2009-10 president Sarah Heermann opened the evening program last Tuesday.

“FBLA has allowed us to participate in a program that transitions the education one receives in school to the business world,” said Heermann. “It has taught us dedication, confidence and poise; and has taught us how to compete in the business world.”

Special chapter awards were presented by advisor Kristie Ham to Heermann, Outstanding Member; Preston King, Outstanding New Member; and Elise Nelson, Outstanding Chapter Contributions.

Ham noted the local FBLA chapter has received national recognition awards. Heermann accepted the chapter’s 100 percent class participation award. Additionally, Heermann and Nelson were awarded 2010 membership madness awards.

Nelson was also recognized for completing the Future Award Activities for the Business Achievement Awards and for serving as a state officer this past year.

Retiring senior officers were introduced by Ham. They include Nelson, Megan Colglazier, Nicole Brandt and Geoffrey Mattson.

FBLA members were recognized for their years of participation as follows:

Fourth-year members­—Megan Colglazier, Geoffrey Mattson and Elise Nelson.

Third-year members—Briar Bergner, Sarah Heermann, Catrina Krueger and Sydney Nelson.

Second-year members—Teanna Amaral, Karina Avila, Nicole Brandt, Yesenia Coronado, Brian DeBoer, Christa Durbin, Mark Edmonds, Margarita Fierro, KrisAnna Ham, Carolina Hermosillo, Brooke Parker, Alex Quintana, Stephanie Ramirez, Whitni Redman and Alyssa Roll.

First-year members—Patricia Adams, Christina Banaka, Severine Barras, Becca Brandt, Duncan Brandt, Kaziah Dagel, Annie Daniel, Michaela Elmquist, Amanda Ferguson, Lindsay Helgoth, Cesar Hinostroza, Shellie Hysell, Preston King, Sara Kumm, Jeremy Loutensock, Taylor Mignone, Brandon Oosthuysen, Brandi Orand, Leo Ortiz, Chris Pell and Ana Karen Trejo.

Vice president Whitni Redman shared a multi-media presentation highlighting the 2009-10 FBLA year in Holyoke.

Members were recognized for numerous district, state and national awards received in the past year, as well as chapter awards and achievements.

Appreciation was noted for parent sponsors, administrators, school board, business advisory committee, financial sponsors and American Enterprise project sponsors.

At the close of Tuesday’s program, state officer Jena Monheiser installed the 2010-11 FBLA officers.

They include Sydney Nelson, president; Sarah Heermann, vice president; Whitni Redman, parliamentarian; Briar Bergner, secretary; Brian DeBoer, treasurer; Brooke Parker, reporter; Margarita Fierro, historian; Alex Quintana, fundraising coordinator; Catrina Krueger, public relations; and Becca Brandt, Student Council rep.