Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
HHS to graduate 32 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Thirty-two students in Holyoke High School’s Class of 2010 will be recognized at Commencement exercises this Sunday, May 16 at 2 p.m. in the HHS gym.

A Baccalaureate service will begin at 1 p.m. in the HHS auditorium. The service is being coordinated by Holyoke Ministerial Alliance and Pastor Gary Rahe of Zion Lutheran Church will be the speaker.

Commencement will be highlighted with special music by the high school choir and junior and senior high bands. The choir will sing Breakaway while the bands will perform Zeal along with the processional music. The band is under the direction of Pat Wiebers, and the choir Marcia Dalton.

Citizenship award winners will be recognized by American Legion Post 90 and its Auxiliary.

Counselor Summer Maloney will announce scholarships while school board members Kris Camblin and Kim Killin hand out diplomas. HHS Principal Susan Ortner will present the class.

Supt. Bret Miles will give the welcome at Sunday’s graduation, while Duncan Brandt will give the class farewell.

Valedictorian and salutatorian honors will not be announced until Friday, May 14. Those students will speak at graduation.

Members of the Class of 2010 are Bianca Marie Acosta, Larry Glen Banaka, Severine Barras, Ryan Alex Baumgartner, Shelby Taylor Beavers, Shaun Michel Beck, Duncan Alan Brandt, Nicole Marie Brandt, Kyle Brent Carper, Megan Lee Colglazier, Emily Renee Daniel.

Brittany Nicole Durbin, Amanda René Ferguson, Molly Emm Fricke, Marisela Garcia, Luke Allen Garrett, Mark Thomas Gertner, Ashley Nichole Gragg, Taylor Joel Haidle, Matt Charles Harvey, Logan Kyle Krueger, Geoffrey Ryan Mattson.

Lilian Noemy Menjivar, Elise Christine Nelson, Brandon Richard Oosthuysen, Chasity Lynn Pelle, Kimberly Denise Peña, Nora Ann Roth, Marissa LeeAnn Smith, Chad Henry Stroh, Travis Evan Swanson and Kendra Kaye Timm.

Motto for the Class of 2010 is “Only as high as we reach, can we grow. Only as far as we seek, can we go. Only as deep as we look, can we see. Only as much as we dream, can we be.” Class colors are midnight blue and silver, and the flower is the sunflower.

Senior class officers are Duncan Brandt, president; Molly Fricke, vice president; Nicole Brandt, secretary; and Logan Krueger, treasurer.

Senior members of National Honor Society are Ryan Baumgartner, Duncan Brandt, Nicole Brandt, Kyle Carper, Megan Colglazier, Brittany Durbin, Taylor Haidle, Logan Krueger, Elise Nelson, Chasity Pelle, Kimberly Peña and Marissa Smith.

Junior class grand marshalls are Ella Stewart and Preston King, while ushers are Mallory Bennett, Heather Duester, Seth Baker and Brian DeBoer.