Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Millage places in Corn Yield Contest PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Steve Millage of Holyoke recently won third place in the No Till/Strip Till Non-irrigated division of the 2008 National Corn Growers’ Association’s (NCGA) Corn Yield Contest in Colorado. He won with Pioneer brand hybrid 35F37, which yielded 114 bushels per acre.

The NCGA Corn Yield Contest is an annual competition among corn producers with the goal of producing the highest yields. In the contest, growers compete within a broad range of corn production classes, including non-irrigated, no-till/strip-till non-irrigated, no-till/strip-till irrigated, ridge-till non-irrigated, ridge-till irrigated and irrigated classes.

Winners will receive national recognition in publications such as the NCYC Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed, chemical and crop protection companies. In Dallas, Texas, during the 2009 Commodity Classic, state winners will be presented awards at the NCYC Breakfast and national winners will receive awards at the Awards Banquet.

A record 4,932 growers entered the 2008 Corn Yield Contest. Of these, several growers from the region placed in the state contest. 

Those from Haxtun include first-place no-till/strip-till non-irrigated division winner Lynn Seger of Seger Farms at 123 bushels; first-place non-irrigated division winner Kirby J. Atkins at 56 bushels; and second-place no-till/strip-till/non-irrigated division winner Bryan Hofmeister at 117 bushels.

Two Wray growers placed second in the competition: Leo F. Sprague of Sprague Farms in the irrigated division with 266 bushels and Tom Stroh of TLT Brothers in the no-till/strip-till irrigated division with 278 bushels.

Byron Weathers of Yuma placed third in the no-till/strip-till irrigated division with 263 bushels.