Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
HHS honors 2010-11 winter sports athletes PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Athletes in HHS boys’ basketball, cheerleading, wrest­ling and girls’ basketball programs, as well as Holyoke swimmers on the Sterling girls’ swim team, were recognized Monday, March 28 for their participation in the 2010-11 winter sports season.

A meal was enjoyed by sports participants and their families prior to the evening program. Activities director Kimberlee Bennett coordinated the awards program.

Academic All-State announced

HHS junior and senior letterwinners recognized for receiving Academic All-State first-team honors with a GPA of 3.6 or higher were Reid Baumgartner, Mallory Bennett, Becca Brandt, Brian DeBoer, Laura Gerk, Kaylee Groshans, Austin Killin, Amy Krogmeier, Sydney Nelson, Whitni Redman and Jordan Zeiler.

Those receiving honorable mention with a GPA of 3.3-3.59 were KrisAnna Ham, Jeremy Loutensock, Preston King and Marci Vasa.


Coach Adria Colver noted all five Holyoke girls and one Haxtun girl who swam with the Sterling High School team earned letters for the season.

These included seniors Briar Bergner, Pamela McWilliams and Brandi Orand; junior Amy Krogmeier; Haxtun sophomore Katlin Davis; and freshman Malena McWilliams.

At the Sterling awards program, Krogmeier earned the Tiger Award as the most valuable swimmer on the team, and Malena McWilliams earned the Rookie of the Year award.

Aly Brinkema assists with the swim team coaching.

Boys’ Basketball

Coaches Scott Dille, Aaron Sprague and Kelvin Haidle highlighted their season full of changes and presented awards to the boys’ basketball team members.

Junior Reid Baumgartner was recognized for making first-team LPAA All-Conference, while seniors Preston King and Brian DeBoer both earned honorable mention All-Conference. DeBoer was selected to play in the April 3 NJC All-Star game.

Other team members earning letters for the season were senior Willie Greenman and juniors Alex Quintana, Austin Killin, Jeremy Loutensock and Julian Titze.

Participation awards were earned by senior Pekka Roivas; juniors Philip Buck and Chris Bieber; sophomores Brett Cumming, Jaydin Goldenstein, Deyten Klein, Logan Zeiler, Matt Golden, Mike Kuehl, Emanuel Rapp and Phillip Beck; and freshmen Trevor Dalton, Ryan Parker, Tanner Smith, Zach Roll, Saul Ramos, Logan Tharp and manager Ryan Krogmeier.


Cheer coach Jane Zink awarded the seven girls who finished the cheer season. She noted the team placed second in the Colorado High School Activities Association (CHSAA) competition in December.

Letterwinners included seniors Mallory Bennett and Sydney Nelson, juniors Teanna Amaral and Whitni Redman, sophomore Molly Brandt and freshmen Tia Huffman and Brittney Prottsman.

Joining the seven letterwinners in the state competition was sophomore McKenna Heldenbrand, who moved from the district at the semester.


Coaches Jack Garrison and Dusty McConnell recognized the wrestling team at Monday night’s program.

Junior Mark Edmonds was honored for being a two-time state champion, senior Skyler Dittmer for placing sixth at state, junior Broc Pelle for placing fourth at state and junior Parker Redfern for qualifying for state. All four lettered for the Dragons.

Participation awards were presented to senior Perry Garrett and sophomores Ben Martinez, Leo Ortiz, Spencer Kotch, Astolfo Rojo and Jesus Hermosillo.

Girls’ Basketball

Coaches Arlan Scholl, Kate Shoemaker and Harvey Eurich recognized the achievement of the HHS girls’ basketball team which placed sixth in the 2A state tournament after claiming a regional championship.

Honorable mention LPAA All-Conference honors went to seniors Mallory Bennett and Marci Vasa; and junior Laura Gerk.

Bennett was also selected to play in the Colorado Coaches of Girls’ Sports All-State game, and seniors Bennett, Vasa, Heather Duester and Kaylee Groshans were selected for the NJC All-Star game April 3.

In addition to Bennett, Duester, Groshans, Vasa and Gerk, other letterwinners for the 2010-11 season were seniors Patricia Adams and Becca Brandt; juniors KrisAnna Ham and Jordan Zeiler; sophomores Erin Vieselmeyer, Chandler Gerk and Marissa Chambers; and freshman Maddie King.

Earning manager letters were sophomore Rachel Schneider and freshman Eva Penzing.

Participation awards were presented to seniors Emma Adams and Ilse Kamstra; junior Brooke Parker; sophomores Jordan Bernard, Molly Brandt and Becca Weaver; and freshmen Tia Huffman, Jacinda Krueger, Zuri Lopez and Audi Peña.