Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
'Judy's Petunias' is Best of Show PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   
    For the second straight year, local Nancy Dee of Haxtun won Best of Show honors in the Phillips County Arts Council’s recent show with her watercolor entitled “Judy’s Petunias.”
    A nice display of art from area residents was entered in the March 27-29 show held at Holyoke High School.
    Second-place Best of Show honors went to D.A. Tatum of Grant, Neb. with “Artus Van Blue 7 Dragonfly” and third place overall went to Colleen Twiss of Wray with “Watching and Waiting.”
    Audrey Lechuga of Yuma received Best of Professional with “Red Poppies.” Best of Advanced went to Gail Hielscher of Holyoke with “Gecko.” Tara Edelen of Sterling took honors as Best of Beginners with her “Waterlilies” painting.
    Winning both the People’s Choice Award as well as Best of Students was student Steve Maaliao of Grant, Neb. with “Violin.”
    For the second year in a row, a Doris Abbey Memorial Award was given by Larry Abbey in honor of his mother Doris. Mary Parminter of Holyoke was the recipient of the $25 cash gift with her acrylic “Moe.” The winner of the Doris Abbey Memorial Award is chosen by Abbey himself.
    Winners of each division are listed in order of placings, followed by those earning an honorable mention (HM).
    Advanced: Alicia Bailey, Lewellen, “Pretty in Pink;” Trish Treiner, Sidney, Neb., “‘Trompin’ Sun Valley;” Myra Ring, Oshkosh, Neb., “Winter Wonderland;” Hank Jessen (HM), Sidney, Neb., “Neighborhood Foxes;” Mary Carlsen (HM), Paoli, “Moon Rise;” Alice Bailey (HM) Lewellen, “Wings Over Water.”
    Beginner: Gladys Seifert, Yuma, “Roy and His Friend.”
    Professional: Lance Wurst, Grant, Neb., “Team;” Nancy Dee, Haxtun, “Petunias in the Garden;” Margie Chance, Yuma, “Looking Back—Silverton R.R.;” Audrey Lechuga (HM), Yuma, “Layers of Paint.”
    Advanced: Trish Treiner, “St. Andrews By The Sea;” Mary Parminter, Holyoke, “Shrimpboat II;” Cindy Musgrave, Wray, “Back Roads,” Parminter (HM) “At Home.”
    Beginner: Brittany Conklin, “Fragmented.”
    Professional: Lu Lillich, Yuma, “Tree Gate to Where;” Nancy Dee, Haxtun, “Stapleton Haystack;” Lillich, “Aspen.”
    Advanced: Cindy Musgrave, Wray, 1st “Fish Pond,” 2nd “Sunflower;” Colleen Twiss, Wray, “West Coast Sunset.”
    Beginner: Brittany Conklin, Haxtun, “Redemption;” Damien Westebuh, Julesburg, “Wild Cat;” Conklin, “Ally;” Hannah Conklin (HM), Haxtun, “Mystique.”
Mixed Media
    Professional: Sheryl Farnsworth, Holyoke, “Solitude;” Margie Chance, Yuma, “Oriental Sunrise;” Farnsworth, “Dreamer;” Kay Hoch (HM), Yuma, “Anna.”
    Advanced: D.A. Tatum, Grant, Neb., “Artus Van Blue Puff 3;” Mary B. Wenzlick, Oshkosh, Neb., “Burst of Joy.”
    Beginner: Hannah Conklin, Haxtun, “Soaring Dimensions.”
    Professional: Judy McElroy, Gurley, “Plains River Valley Evening;” Bonnie Patterson, Haxtun, 2nd “Untitled,” 3rd “Early Morning Reverie.”
    Advanced: Mary Parminter, Holyoke, “Moe;” Chuck Dvorak, Haxtun, 2nd “The Way It Ought To Be,” 3rd “Stray.”
    Beginner: Theresa Conklin, Haxtun, 1st “Cecelia,” 2nd “Mother’s Love;” Hannah Conklin, Haxtun, “Polar Pals.”
Photography (Traditional)
    Advanced: Gail Hielscher, Holyoke, “Umauma Falls, Hawaii;” Patti Bohall, Wray, “Frosted Over;” William Day, Lewellen, “Blue Creek Splendor;” Joanie Groshans (HM), Holyoke, “Katie;” Jan Schultz (HM), Imperial, Neb., “Champion Lake in Fall;” Rita Kleve (HM), Holyoke, “Owl Butterfly;” Schultz, “Country Road.”
Photography (Enhanced)
    Advanced: David Nygaard, Holyoke, “Confederate Dead.”
    Professional: Rick Chance, Yuma, “Marinbula.”
Colored Pencil
    Professional: Kay Hoch, Yuma, “First Audience.”
Pen and Ink
    Professional: Lance Wurst, Grant, Neb., “Angel Statue.”
    Professional: Kay Hoch, Yuma, “Trio.”
    Advanced: Chuck Dvorak, Haxtun, “Mark Twain.”
    Beginner: Taylor Ness, Julesburg, “Robert.”
    Beginner: Vicki Nygaard, Holyoke, “You’re Some Pretty Doll.”
Student projects
    Third grade: Emily Atkins (1st and 2nd). Fourth grade: Taryn Knight (1st and 2nd).
    Sixth and seventh grades: Kelsey Kramer, Ismael Ybarra (2nd and HM), Maria Fraire, Nohemi Sanchez (HM) and Andrew Kent (HM). Eighth grade: Covriney Dickerson, Brianna Bade, Cesar Hinostroza (3rd and HM) and Alex Wyman (HM).
    Ninth grade: Christina Miyamoto, Shayna Oosthuysen, Janet Kuskie, Kanisha Deam (HM), Kyle Johnson (HM) and Ben Chamberlain (HM).
    Tenth grade: Krystal Gaar, Max Jones, Robyn Krause, Skyles Stortenbelle (HM) and Cody Hamilton (HM).
    Eleventh grade: Damien Westeibuhr, Elisa Carlson, Dani Spitz-McCannon, Taylor Dess (HM), Taylor McCormick (HM), Stephanie Cover (HM) and Alecia Friedel (HM).
    Twelfth grade: Ryan Pankonin, Jordan Johnson, Amara Meyer, Sarah Ramirez (HM), Bradley Mayer (HM), Jesse Krause (HM) and Holly Christensen (HM).