Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
HHS honors 2011-12 winter sports athletes PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Athletes in HHS cheerleading, girls’ basketball, boys’ basketball and wrestling programs were recognized Monday, March 26 for their participation in the 2011-12 winter sports season.

Special guest for the evening was long-time teacher and coach Gene Daise who was recognized for being selected to receive the Lifetime Service to Wrestling Award from the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Daise spoke to the crowd after hearing kind words from former student Gary Sperber as well as activities director Kimberlee Bennett. Following Daise’s words, he received a standing ovation from the crowd and coaches on stage.

A meal was enjoyed by sports participants and their families prior to the evening program. Activities director Bennett coordinated the awards program.

Academic All-State announced

HHS junior and senior letterwinners recognized for receiving Academic All-State first-team honors with a GPA of 3.6 or higher were Ben Martinez, Rachel Schneider, Erin Vieselmeyer, Logan Zeiler, Reid Baumgartner, Laura Gerk, Austin Killin, Brooke Parker, Harry Paulin and Whitni Redman.

Those receiving honorable mention with a GPA of 3.3-3.59 were Chandler Gerk, KrisAnna Ham, Jeremy Loutensock and Broc Pelle.


Cheer coach Jane Zink recognized her eight cheerleaders as letterwinners. She noted this year’s squad was very young and she was proud of how they performed all year.

Letterwinners include seniors Teanna Clark and Whitni Redman; sophomores Brittney Prottsman, Tia Huffman, Alyssa Killin, Audi Peña and Shobi Burris; and freshman Taylor Goldenstein.

Girls’ Basketball

Coaches Arlan Scholl, Kate Shoemaker and Harvey Eurich recognized the accomplishments of the girls’ basketball team.

Senior Laura Gerk was recognized for making the first team LPAA All-Conference as well as being selected to play in the Colorado Coaches of Girls’ Sports All-State game.

Honorable mention LPAA All-Conference honors were received by junior Erin Vieselmeyer.

In addition to Gerk and Vieselmeyer, other letterwinners for the 2011-12 season were seniors KrisAnna Ham and Brooke Parker; junior Chandler Gerk; sophomores Maddie King and Audi Peña; and freshman Megan Vieselmeyer.

Earning a manager letter was junior Rachel Schneider.

Participation awards were received by seniors Antonine Bidaud and Gabriela Chavez; juniors Jordan Bernard, Lea Hafliger, Cierra Prelle and Becca Weaver; sophomores Shobi Burris, Tia Huffman, Ashley Humphreys, Louise Krog-Meyer, Jacinda Krueger, Zuri Lopez, Debby Mendoza and Eva Penzing; and freshmen Jentry Andersen, Kaylee Ham, Stefani Razo, Rosa Ochoa and Ana Olivas.

Boys’ Basketball

Coaches Scott Dille, Aaron Sprague and Ben Rahe presented awards to the boys’ basketball team which finished as district runner-up and advanced to the regional tournament.

Senior Reid Baumgartner was recognized for making first-team LPAA All-Conference, while sophomore Logan Tharp earned honorable mention All-Conference.

Other team members earning letters for the season were seniors Chris Bieber, Austin Killin, Jeremy Loutensock and Harry Paulin; juniors Deyten Klein and Logan Zeiler; sophomore Trevor Dalton; and freshman Tito Fierro.

Participation awards were presented to juniors Brett Cumming, Matt Golden and Jaydin Goldenstein; sophomores Daniel Bencomo, Ivan Millan, Ryan Parker, Zach Roll and Tanner Smith; and freshmen Ramon Favela, Jesus Martinez, Wyatt Powell and Kody Timm.


Coaches Jack Garrison, Dusty McConnell and Cutter Garrison presented awards to the 2011-12 wrestling team.

Jack had many good things to say about each wrestler as he presented them with awards.

Senior Mark Edmonds was recognized for his rare accomplishment of becoming a three-time state champion.

Senior Broc Pelle placed second at the state tournament. Junior Jesus Hermosillo and freshman Dylan Kotch also were recognized for making it to the state tournament.

In addition to Edmonds, Pelle, Hermosillo and Dylan Kotch, others receiving letters were senior Parker Redfern; juniors Spencer Kotch, Ben Martinez, Leo Ortiz and Astolfo Rojo; and freshmen TJ Gertner and Nicholas Ortner.

Participation awards were presented to juniors Cesar Hinostroza and José Jaquez and freshmen Morgan Golden, Nathan Miles and Luke Stewart.

Holyoke Enterprise March 29, 2012