Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Gateway to Greatness recognizes FBLA achievement at HHS PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Encouraged to follow their “Gateway to Greatness,” Holyoke High School Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) members were recognized for their success at the May 3 year-end award program.

Members gathered on the auditorium staged as introduced by teacher Nic Balog.

Chapter president Alex Quintana acknowledged parents, staff, program helpers and adviser Kristie Ham for their support.

Special chapter awards were presented by Ham to Quintana, who was named outstanding member; and Meg Strauss, oustanding new member.

Ham also introduced and told a story about each of the senior members, as well as the exchange students who have been members this past year.

Senior Whitni Redman represented HHS and the whole state well this past year in serving as the 2011-12 national FBLA Mountain Plains vice president. She shared about her experience as part of Thursday night’s program.

Outgoing FBLA president Alex Quintana, pictured at left, passes the gavel to Molly Brandt, who will serve as president for 2012-13.  —Enterprise photo

FBLA members were recognized for their years of participation as follows:

Fourth-year members—Margarita Fierro, KrisAnna Ham, Brooke Parker, Alex Quintana and Whitni Redman.

Third-year members—Teanna Clark, Lindsay Helgoth and Jeremy Loutensock.

Second-year members—Molly Brandt, Alyssa Cordova, Brett Cumming, Mark Edmonds, Jacinda Krueger, Shaylee Krueger, Ben Martinez, Leo Ochoa, Cierra Prelle and Gaby Quintana.

First-year members—Renan Barrueco, Payin Becerra, Antonine Bidaud, AJ Brandt, Troy Brown, Logan Gift, Matt Golden, Jack Gorwitz, Lea Häfliger, Kaylee Ham, Jesus Hermosillo, Tia Huffman, José Jaquez, Berenice Juarez, Caleb Kafka, Maddie King, Alex McCallum, Audi Peña, Brittney Prottsman, Ryan Stark, Meg Strauss and Henri Tuokko.

FBLA members receiving special recognition awards last Thursday are pictured from left, Meg Strauss, outstanding new member; and Alex Quintana, outstanding member.

—Enterprise photo

Payin Becerra shared a multimedia presentation highlighting the 2011-12 FBLA year in Holyoke.

Members were recognized for district and state awards received in the past year, as well as chapter awards and achievements.

Also introduced in the program were parent sponsor Misti Redman, administrators, school board, business advisory committee, financial sponsors and Partnership with Business project sponsors.

Shirley Kadlec of American Legion Post #90 offered a patriotic presentation during Thursday’s program, talking about the dedication required for soldiers guarding the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in Washington, D.C.

New officers for Holyoke FBLA Chapter were installed at last week’s recognition program and are pictured from left, front row, Kaylee Ham, reporter; Maddie King, Student Council representative; and Molly Brandt, president; second row, Cierra Prelle, public relations; Meg Strauss, fund raising coordinator; Alyssa Cordova, secretary; and Shaylee Krueger, historian; and back row, Brett Cumming, treasurer; and Ben Martinez, vice president.  —Enterprise photo

Newly-elected Colorado District 4 vice president Zac Copeland from Fleming installed the 2012-13 FBLA officers.

They include Molly Brandt, president; Ben Martinez, vice president; Alyssa Cordova, secretary; Brett Cumming, treasurer; Kaylee Ham, reporter; Shaylee Krueger, historian; Meg Strauss, fund raising coordinator; Cierra Prelle, public relations; and Maddie King, Student Council representative.

President Brandt closed out the program by acknowledging anticipation for a successful year with dedicated and committed members.

Holyoke Enterprise May 10, 2012