Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
A Healthier Way deemed success PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Colorado State University Extension agent Tracy Trumper was pleased with the participation during this year’s A Healthier Weigh Challenge.

Overall, 44,315,905 steps were recorded which equals 22,157.95 miles.

Twelve teams and three individuals participated in this year’s challenge which had participants keep track of steps each day for 12 weeks. Participants also completed online lessons to help understand fitness, health and nutrition.

Award winners were recognized during a Mediterranean Night awards celebration Monday, May 7 at Phillips County Event Center.

An overview of Mediterranean cooking was given by Trumper before participants gathered in the kitchen to prepare a Mediterranean meal consisting of chicken gyros, leaf salad, quinoa and chickpea tabbouleh salad and Greek yogurt with fresh berries and granola.

A Healthier Weigh winners were recognized Monday night, May 7 during an awards presentation at Phillips County Event Center. The program, put on by Colorado State University Extension Office, promoted individuals and teams to focus on their health and consider implementing different healthy habits into their lives. Award recipients attending Monday night’s presentation are pictured from left, front row, Carrie Anderson, Darci Tomky and Ashley Sullivan; and back row, Christina Martinez, Dana Neugebauer, Connie Lechman, Betty Wickenkamp and Chris Lee.  —Enterprise photo

Winners of this year’s challenge are as follows:

Individual Overall Award—Nici Bishop.

Biggest Loser—Lynette Harms.

Overall Team Award—first, Jays and Jills (Jay John, Ray Sanchez, Dana Neugebauer and Carrie Anderson); second, 4 of a kind—3 Queens and a Joker (Brenda Brandt, Betty Wickenkamp, Debbie Brandt and Bob Brandt); third, The Tappers (Sandra Rahe, Kelsey Reimink, Sarah Dille and Kayla Young).

Biggest Loser Team—first, Healthy, Wealthy and Wise (Melyssa Davis, Julie Koberstein, Leslie Werner and Connie Lechman); second, Cruising for Losing, Linda Jelden, Christina Martinez, Theresa Tharp and Allie Billings); and third, The Office (Chris Lee, Darci Tomky, Ashley Sullivan and Molly Brandt).

Awards were also given to six teams for having completed over 200 points worth of educational lessons.

Holyoke Enterprise May 10, 2012