Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Athletes recognized for spring sports PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Holyoke High School students were recognized during the spring athletic awards night at HHS Tuesday, May 22.

Athletic director Kimberlee Bennett recognized two seniors with three for four awards­—the highest honor given by HHS to athletes. This award is given to those athletes who participate in three sports all four years of their high school career.

Recipients in the class of 2012 were Reid Baumgartner and Austin Killin.

Austin Killin, at left, and Reid Baumgartner were the recipients of this year’s three sports/four years awards.  
—Enterprise photo

Kyle Bules presented Academic All-State awards to the juniors and seniors who qualified. To earn First Team honors, students must have a 3.6 cumulative GPA or higher, be a minimum junior in school and must be a letter winner.

Academic All-State first team recipients were seniors Reid Baumgartner and Austin Killin; and juniors Alyssa Cordova, Brett Cumming, Lindsay Helgoth, Rachel Schneider, Erin Vieselmeyer and Logan Zeiler.

Junior Jaydin Goldenstein earned Honorable Mention honors which requires a GPA of 3.3-3.59.

Coaches for HHS spring sports honored participating athletes as follows:


Coaches Sandra Rahe, Kelsey Reimink and Luke Thomas presented track awards.

Earning letters this year were senior Alex Quintana; juniors Matt Golden, Lindsay Helgoth, Cierra Prelle and manager Rachel Schneider; sophomores Shobi Burris, Louise Krog-Meyer, Jacinda Krueger, Ryan Parker, Audi Peña and Brittney Prottsman; and freshmen AJ Brandt, Tito Fierro, T.J. Gertner, Morgan Golden, Nicholas Ortner, Bianca Rodriguez, Javy Rojo and Megan Vieselmeyer.

Participation awards were received by senior Gabi Chavez; juniors José Jaquez, Chris Pell, Erin Vieselmeyer and Becca Weaver; sophomores Malena McWilliams and Meg Strauss; and freshmen Kaylee Ham, Ramiro Iniguez and Ana Olivas.

Five team participants were recognized for qualifying and competing at the state track meet. They include Tito Fierro, T.J. Gertner, Matt Golden, Ryan Parker and Alex Quintana.


Coaches Kyle Bules, Brett Gerk and Marcus Kammer presented the baseball awards.

Earning letter this year were seniors Reid Baumgartner and Austin Killin; juniors Brett Cumming, Jaydin Goldenstein, Jesus Hermosillo, Deyten Klein, Alfredo Santos and Logan Zeiler; and sophomores Trevor Dalton and Logan Tharp.

Earning participation awards were juniors Cesar Hinostroza, Spencer Kotch and Harry Paulin; sophomores Ryan Krogmeier, Zach Roll and Tanner Smith; and freshmen Dylan Kotch, Jesus Martinez, Nathan Miles and Wyatt Powell.

Girls’ golf

Coaches Garrett Gordon and Allie Billings presented the girls’ golf team with their awards.

Earning letters were juniors Alyssa Cordova and Caitlyn Kramer and sophomore Makayla Spitz. Gordon said the three girls were the only ones to play in the regional tournament.

Participation awards were presented to sophomore Kelsey Kramer and freshman Alex McCallum.

Gordon also presented three girls with special awards. Cordova was awarded the Best Attitude award, Caitlyn Kramer the Most Improved award and Spitz the Scoring Leader award.

Holyoke Enterprise May 31, 2012