Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Mid-season champs crowned PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Mid-season champions were crowned Friday night, June 29 at Phillips County Raceway.

The IMCA Modifieds saw Eddie Belec take off and score his first win of the 2012 season. Holyoke’s Garrett Sporhase had his hands full of John Hansen and Jeremy Frenier. Sporhase claimed second over Hansen, Frenier and Cale Osborn. Frenier, was crowned mid-season champion.

The IMCA Northern Sport Mod feature had Jason Brees take off and leave the other drivers behind to battle for their positions. Brees raced to the win ahead of Colton Osborn, Jacob Adler, Britt Geist and Shane Stout. Brees and Adler tied for Mid-Season champion, and both drivers had two wins. Brees however has two second-place finishes giving him the mid-season champion title.

In the IMCA Stock Car race, Jesse Taylor added more padding to his Colorado State points lead with another win on the season. Lloyd Meeske finished a close second over Casey Woken, Casey Werkmeister and Don Schweitzer. Taylor also took the mid-season championship.

Austin Davis took another IMCA Hobby Stock win. Holyoke’s favorite Mike “Woody” Woodhead had to settle for second over Colt Gibbs and Cody Pancake. Davis is the mid-season champion.

The RMLSA Lightning Sprints made a visit to the speedway and brought a nice solid field of competitors to do battle. Troy Simpson took the win on the fast surface. Paul Babich crossed the line second over Brent Rees, Austin Pribenow and Brandon Steele.

Results from June 29 are as follow:

Modifieds: Eddie Belec, Garrett Sporhase, John Hansen, Ferey Frenier, Cale Osborn, James Krehmeyer, Don Geist, Beau Speicher, David Murray Jr., Cole Hodges, Jim Groenwold, Zach Hilzer and Ryan Gaylord.

Sport mods: Jason Brees, Colton Osborn, Jacob Adler, Britt Geist, Shane Stout, Trevor Geist, Tom Nelson Jr., Corey Cruzan, Mike Lininger, James Walley, Bryan Herrick and Aaron Schwartz.

Stock car: Jesse Taylor, Lloyd Meeske, Casey Woken, Casey Werkmeister, Don Schweitzer and Ivan Wiebke.

Hobby stock: Austin Davis, Mike Woodhead, Colt Gibbs and Cody Pancake.

Lightning sprints: Troy Simpson, Paul Babich, Brent Rees, Austin Pribenow, Brandon Steele, Jeff Gieg, Sammy Gallo, Tim Snelling, Mike Snelling, Shane Stanley and Glen Waterland.

Racing action was scheduled to be back Wednesday night, July 4. A packed lineup pushed the race time to 5 p.m.

Holyoke Enterprise June 5, 2012