Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Local school board recognized; King elected to CHSAA Legislative Council PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Holyoke School District Re-1J Board of Education was well represented at the Nov. 29-Dec. 2 annual convention of the Colorado Association of School Boards (CASB) at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs.

At the Dec. 1 business meeting, Holyoke board member Jon King campaigned for and was elected to a three-year term on the Colorado High School Activities Association (CHSAA) Legislative Council.

CHSAA’s Legislative Council, formerly Board of Control, is made up of 69 representatives from local leagues across the state, additional representatives from larger leagues, three representatives from the state’s superintendents and five members of CASB, representing specified areas in the state.

King was elected to represent CASB regions 1 and 4.

              Jon King

In a solid commitment for involvement, the local board and Superintendent Bret Miles presented a breakout session Friday during the CASB convention.

The board’s breakout session was titled, “It’s Not Good, It’s Just What We Do,” touting practical strategies and tools for boards from other board members.

Presenters were board members Jeff Tharp, Kris Camblin, Linda Jelden, King and Dennis Herman, as well as Miles.

Through the All State Board of Education application process, the local board was one of four in the state recognized as a Distinguished School Board at the recent convention.

Miles noted, “I’m very proud to work for this dedicated group.” Board member Jelden praised Miles, saying he has “really helped all of us become better board members individually and as a team.”

Holyoke also took three HHS juniors to participate in the student strand of the convention. They were Meg Strauss, Brenda Hernandez and Brittney Prottsman.

Strauss and Hernandez attended the Dec. 4 school board meeting to share about their experience and talk about the role of student leadership in the district.

At the local meeting, board president Jeff Tharp was presented with a gift for attending what was his last CASB convention for his eight-year term on the board.

It was also noted that three local students had art displayed at the CASB convention. They included Kyla Strecker, Kaitlyn Kent and Genesis Iniguez.


Joyce Barkey recognized

The board was also pleased to share the good news that former Holyoke teacher Joyce Barkey was given the Demont Award at the CASB convention.

Barkey is currently serving as principal in the Otis School District. The Demont Award recognizes rural administrators who have made a difference in students’ lives.

Holyoke Enterprise December 13, 2012