Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Golf, baseball, track honored at HHS spring awards banquet PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   
    Holyoke High School athletes and their families were invited to the spring awards banquet Tuesday, May 19.  Booster Club president Casey Gerk started the event by welcoming the guests and thanking all those who have supported the athletes this season.
    New Booster Club officers were announced. Gary Carper will be the new president; Pat Vasa, vice president; Beth Cumming, treasurer; and Michelle Vieselmeyer, secretary.

Girls’ Golf
    Coaches Garrett Gordon and Jennifer Kral commended their team of mostly new golfers for an outstanding year. The team was recognized by CHSAA for their academics with a team GPA of 3.30.
    Those on the team rewarded for team academics were Laura Gerk, Whitni Redman, Jordan Zeiler, Sianna Gomez, Mallory Purnell, Alyssa Roll, Briar Bergner and Kelsey Scott.
    Individuals receiving first team academic honors for a 3.60 or higher were Gerk, Redman, Zeiler and Scott. Honorable mention for 3.30-3.59 was Gomez.
    Scott earned a golf letter. Earning participation awards were Gerk, Zeiler, Bergner, Eveliina Rantanen, Shayna Oosthuysen, Purnell, Gomez, Redman and Roll.
    With only one graduating golfer, the coaches hope to have many returning athletes next year.

    Coaches Kyle Bules and John Ortner presented their baseball players with awards for team and individual academics, All Conference and honorable mention honors, letterwinners and participation.
    Players receiving the team academic award for a 3.30 were Reid Baumgartner, Broc Pelle, Brent Vasa, Brian DeBoer, Preston King, Logan Krueger, Ryan Baumgartner, Austin Tharp, Brandon Price, Brett Gerk and Austin Killin.
    Individuals earning first team academics were Reid Baumgartner, DeBoer, Krueger, Ryan Baumgartner and Killin.
    Tharp and Krueger were recognized for making the All Conference list and Price and Gerk received honorable mention.
    Sharing anecdotes about each player, Bules awarded participation certificates and letters. Those honored for participation were Preston King, Matt Harvey, Chris Bieber, Sheng Xuezhi, Shaun Beck, Erik Scharin, Willie Greenman and Dustin Carrick.
    This year’s letterwinners were Tharp, Price, Gerk, Krueger, Ryan Baumgartner, DeBoer, Vasa, Reid Baumgartner, Pelle and Killin.

    Sandra Rahe, Tracy Trumper and Clint Goldenstein recalled highlights of the season as they rewarded their track team for academics and athletics. Rahe noted she was especially pleased with the team’s perseverance even when the weather was working against them.
    The boys track team received recognition for a 3.45 GPA, with members Kyle Carper, Taylor Haidle and Brandon Oosthuysen. The girls honored for a team GPA of 3.69 were Mallory Bennett, Becca Brandt, Ella Stewart, Kaylee Groshans, Marci Vasa, Heather Duester, Marissa Smith, Nicole Brandt, Shelby Beavers and Phawn Carper.
    Those individuals who were on first team for academics were Kyle Carper, Bennett, Becca Brandt, Stewart, Smith, Nicole Brandt and Phawn Carper.
    Receiving academic honorable mention were Groshans, Vasa and Haidle.
    The individuals who earned participation awards were Annie Daniel, Erin Lebsack, Casey Sage and managers Kali Drees and Margarita Fierro.
    Letterwinners were Beavers, Bennett, Becca Brandt, Nicole Brandt, Phawn Carper, Duester, Groshans, Smith, Stewart, Vasa, Sarah Heermann, Catrina Krueger, Patricia Adams, Emma Adams, KrisAnna Ham, Stephanie Ramirez, Carolina Hermosillo, Kyle Carper, Haidle, Oosthuysen, Jose Goytia, Jeremy Loutensock and Alex Quintana.
    Track coaches also recognized those athletes who competed at the  state meet, including Kyle Carper, Oosthuysen, Smith, Beavers, Bennett, Vasa and Duester.