Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Vieselmeyer named to Denver Post All-State basketball list PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

HHS senior Erin Vieselmeyer earned honorable mention All-State basketball honors for her performance on the court this past season, as reported in The Denver Post Saturday, April 6.

Mike Neill, Yuma girls’ basketball coach who owns State Farm Agency offices in Holyoke and Yuma, was named 2013 Coach of the Year.

Ally Vasquez of Akron was named Girls’ 2A Player of the Year for 2013.

Players named to girls’ All-State first team are Jordan Baer, Sidney Merrill and Allyson Vasquez of Akron, Bailey Haist from The Vanguard and Jennifer Vigil from Lutheran.

Second-team All-State players are Kiera Mekelburg of Yuma, Kenzi Mitchell of Simla, Shelby Patterson of Peyton, Michelle Simmons of Ignacio and Quincey Thacker of Rangely.

Other players from this area receiving honorable mention are Gail Hall of Akron, Marina Hansen and Logan Hixon of Yuma and Maty Peterson of Wray.

2A Boys’ All-State

Boys’ 2A Player of the Year is Alex Terpstra of Denver Christian, and his coach Ray Van Heukelem was named Coach of the Year for 2013.

Boys’ first-team All-Staters are Brady Baer of Akron, Brandon Book of Swink, Tyler Koehn and Gavin Liggett of Limon and Alex Terpstra of Denver Christian.

All-State second-team players are Ethan Abello of Peyton, Calder Larsen of Sanford, Matthew McGinley of Heritage Christian, Wyatt Simon of Resurrection Christian and Tomas Vigil of Sierra Grande.

Honorable mention All-Staters from this area are Brody Bueltell of Yuma, Connor Fiscus of Merino and Kyle Pierce of Haxtun.

Holyoke Enterprise April 11, 2013