Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Holyoke FCCLA members dream, design, deliver PDF Print E-mail
Written by Brenda Johnson Brandt   

“Dream, Design and Deliver” was this year’s statewide theme for Family, Career and Community Leaders of America, and the Holyoke chapter members have created quite the masterpiece.

They celebrated their accomplishments at the annual member recognition program Monday, April 29 at Holyoke High School. Members, as well as their parents and other supporters, were recognized for their efforts this year.

Senior Molly Brandt was honored as FCCLA Member of the Year, as voted on by fellow chapter members.

Recognition of Superior Effort is rewarded each year in the FCCLA ROSE awards. To receive a ROSE award, members must earn 75 percent of the total points possible throughout the year. Points are earned by participation at chapter events, many of which are out-of-school activities.

FCCLA members who received ROSE awards for Recognition of Superior Effort at Monday night’s award program are pictured, from left, Luke Stewart, Dani Brandt, Brenda Hernandez, Alex Yanez, Ana Olivas and Rubi Canales; and back row, Megan Vieselmeyer, Molly Brandt, Ben Martinez, Erin Vieselmeyer, Trevor Dalton, Anastasia Conklin and Logan Tharp.

Seniors Erin Vieselmeyer, Ben Martinez and Molly Brandt were recognized as four-year ROSE award winners and were applauded for their outstanding contributions to FCCLA.

Juniors earning ROSE awards were Trevor Dalton, Brenda Hernandez and Logan Tharp.

Sophomore ROSE award winners were Rubi Canales, Anastasia Conklin, Ana Olivas, Luke Stewart and Megan Vieselmeyer.

Freshmen earning ROSE awards, including a letter jacket patch, were Dennis Amaya, Dani Brandt and Alex Yanez.

Friends of FCCLA are those who have helped the FCCLA chapter and individual teams be successful.

New Friends of FCCLA this year included Cutter Garrison, Tracy Trumper and Bob and Brenda Brandt.

Garrison and his 2012-13 weight class helped with the chapter service project display team’s “Community Up-Lift” project. He guided the weightroom renovation, advising the chapter service team on the project and collaborating with the chapter to help fundraise.

Trumper was a supportive resource for the national program in action and chapter service team. She supported the fitness challenge and helped on the wellness committee, providing ideas and opportunities.

The Brandts were recognized for their assistance as chaperones for state conference and for their support throughout the year in facilitating fundraisers and events and helping the chapter achieve a successful state conference.

New Friends of FCCLA were named at Monday night’s awards program.
They are pictured from left, Cutter Garrison, Tracy Trumper, Brenda Brandt and Bob Brandt.

Chapter success at the recent state leadership conference was reviewed, and adviser Karen Pieper reported seven members will be representing Holyoke FCCLA at the national leadership conference in Nashville, Tenn., in July. They will compete in two different STAR events.

Audi Peña, Brittney Prottsman and Anastasia Conklin highlighted FCCLA’s activities for the 2012-13 year by presenting their chapter showcase manual.

New officers for 2013-14 were installed at Monday night’s program.

Officers are Brenda Hernandez, president and district representative; Megan Vieselmeyer, vice president; Alex Yanez, secretary; Ana Olivas, treasurer; Anastasia Conklin, reporter; Rubi Canales, historian; Luke Stewart, parliamentarian; and Dani Brandt, Student Council representative.

Chapter parents for the next year include Erik and Michelle Vieselmeyer, Mario and Carmen Hernandez, Troy and Mardi Stewart and Jerry and Debbie Brandt.

Project managers—parents and supporters who act as a guiding light for the chapter throughout the year—were also recognized Monday.

They were Erik and Michelle Vieselmeyer, Bob and Brenda Brandt, Jeff and Theresa Tharp, Shawn and Marcia Dalton and Dan and Susan Ortner.

Molly Brandt, pictured at right,
accepts the Member of the Year
award from FCCLA adviser Karen Pieper.

Holyoke chapter members participated in seven national programs this year:

A Better You FCCLA module of Power of One—Dani Brandt, Dennis Amaya, Alex Yanez, Marques Harvey and Austin Vieselmeyer.

Financial Fitness—Brenda Hernandez, Trevor Dalton, Anastasia Conklin, Erin Vieselmeyer, Ana Olivas, Ben Martinez, Rubi Canales, Logan Tharp, Megan Vieselmeyer, Dani Brandt, Austin Vieselmeyer, Dennis Amaya, Molly Brandt and Alex Yanez.

Families First—Brenda Hernandez, Rubi Canales, Ana Olivas, Marques Harvey and Dennis Amaya.

Community Service—Logan Tharp, Megan Vieselmeyer, Dennis Amaya, Matt Golden, Alex Yanez, Trevor Dalton, Luke Stewart, Ben Martinez, Marques Harvey, Brenda Hernandez, Tito Fierro, Rubi Canales, Brett Cumming and Austin Vieselmeyer.

Leaders at Work—Rubi Canales, Ana Olivas and Brenda Hernandez.

Student Body “Be Fit”—Trevor Dalton, Logan Tharp, Luke Stewart, Tito Fierro and Megan Vieselmeyer.

Dynamic Leadership—2012-13 chapter officers Ben Martinez, Molly Brandt, Trevor Dalton, Brenda Hernandez, Erin Vieselmeyer, Megan Vieselmeyer and Ana Olivas.

Brenda Hernandez, pictured at right, accepts the FCCLA
president’s gavel from outgoing president Ben Martinez.

Outgoing president Ben Martinez paid tribute to the FCCLA opportunities that have led him to dream big and the projects and workshops that have taught him that nothing is impossible.

He acknowledged the support of Principal Susan Ortner, adviser Karen Pieper, fellow FCCLA members and parents as he passed the gavel on to 2013-14 president Brenda Hernandez.

Grabbing the presidential reins with gusto, Hernandez assured those gathered Monday night that she will dedicate herself to her position.

She said she is ready to design an FCCLA chapter that is full of exciting new adventures. “I know that with my whole team, we can sculpt an FCCLA chapter where our dreams become realities,” said Hernandez in closing.

Holyoke High School FCCLA officers for 2013-14 are pictured from left, Rubi Canales, Ana Olivas, Megan Vieselmeyer, Brenda Hernandez, Alex Yanez, Anastasia Conklin, Luke Stewart and Dani Brandt.  

—Enterprise photos

Holyoke Enterprise May 2, 2013