|Late millionaire's former home now serves as the local library|
|Written by Holyoke Enterprise|
The Heginbotham home sitting at the intersection of two dirt roads, now referred to as Jules and Baxter, is the featured photo for the month of June in the Holyoke Enterprise’s 125th anniversary calendar.
William E. Heginbotham commissioned an architect from Denver named Michael McEarhern to build his home in 1918. The $75,000 home was constructed at 539 S. Baxter, where it now stands as the Heginbotham Library. The home was completed in 1921. The mansion boasted a walled garden and a water garden filled with imported shrubbery that can still be found at the library.
After Heginbotham’s death in 1968, the property, which stood next to the old Melissa Memorial Hospital building, was left to the hospital building corporation. The residence was then deeded to the town by the hospital.
The Heginbotham home has served as the local library since 1969. The Agenda Club spearheaded a community project to clean and paint the building to prepare the house for its new role as a library, On Oct. 5, 1969 the library was officially dedicated. Shortly after, the name was changed from the Holyoke Public Library to the Heginbotham Library.
The building was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988 for its significant Craftsman architecture and landscape architecture.
Today the library serves the community with a wide selection of material, along with summer reading programs and story hour for children.
Holyoke Enterprise June 20, 2013