Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Sprint cars join IMCA lineup PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

It was a busy summer night Saturday, July 13 at Phillips County Raceway as the Sprint Car Spectacular took over.

Along with the sprint cars, the night also included all four IMCA divisions of racing as drivers took to the dirt track to battle for the checkered flag.

Ryan Gaylord was able to secure a first-place finish in IMCA mods. The win brings him within one point of the second overall point-earner, Jeremy Freinier, but still 28 points behind Jesse Taylor who leads the pack this year.

Colt Gibbs of Holyoke, pictured at right, poses next to his car as the winner of the Saturday, July 13 hobby cars race at PCR.

Holyoke’s own Colt Gibbs gave the Phillips County crowd something to cheer for as he topped the competition for first place in hobbies. He was followed across the finish line by Greg Dannatt and Jim Moore.

With a victory Saturday night racing stock cars, Justin Bussell of Imperial, Neb. extended his lead to 46 points over second-place driver Lloyd Meeske on the season.

Jason Brees earned the checkered flag in the northern sport modified races, edging out Mike Lininger and Tom Nelson, Jr. Lininger is holding on to second place in the points category with 216 while Jacob Adler of Holyoke is sitting in first with 228. Brees helped his cause over the weekend, moving up 38 points to seventh overall with 107 total points.

Jake Bubak snuck away with the top spot in the URSS sprints division, besting Adam Trimble who took second and John Jacob who finished in third.

Justin Bussell of Imperial, Neb., pictured at left, flashes a grin after beating out the field for a first-place finish in stock car racing Saturday night at Phillips County Raceway.

Results from Saturday, July 13 include, listed in order of placing:

IMCA Mods—Ryan Gaylord, Don Geist, Jesse Taylor, Cole Hodges, Garrett Sporhase, John Burrow, James Krehmeyer, Scott Clay, Jim Groenwold and Tyson Groves.

Hobby—Colt Gibbs, Greg Dannatt, Jim Moore, Ron Edge, William McGinnis, Michael Brunswig and Michael Johnson.

Stocks—Justin Bussell, Gregory Gatt, Lloyd Meeske and Tony Walker.

Northern Sport Mod—Jason “Breesy” Brees, Mike Lininger, “Terrible” Tom Nelson Jr., Jake Adler, Tom Quint, Ryan Moser, Trevor Geist and Ty Rogers.

URSS Sprints—Jake Bubak, Adam Trimble, John Jacob, Zac Taylor, Patrick Bourke, Mark Walinder, Brian Hardman, Nate Berry, Butch Hardman and Greg Reiners.

July action at PCR will continue Saturday, July 27 with the Phillips County Fair Race.

Action is slated to begin at 7 p.m. Dirt midgets will highlight the action, along with mods, stocks, s-mods, hobbies and dwarfs.

Holyoke Enterprise July 18, 2013