|Unique fireplace keeps Burge Hotel warm during the winter months|
|Written by Holyoke Enterprise|
A snow covered Burge Hotel is featured during the month of December in the Enterprise’s 125th commemorative calendar.
Originally opened in 1887 as the Sawyer House, the Burge became the Sears Hotel in 1912. The iconic “Spanish mission” exterior was added in 1918. The building wasn’t known as the Burge Hotel or the Hotel Burge until 1925-26. The hotel was owned by Mr. and Mrs. P.F. Burge, who decided to build a fireplace with the help of traveling salesmen.
The fireplace earned a spot in a column entitled “Strange as it Seems” by John Hix. The August 1931 article gave this description of the fireplace: “Traveling salesmen from all parts of the country cooperated in securing rocks and geological oddities from all over the world, with which to build the unique fireplace in the Hotel Burge, Holyoke, Colorado.
To read the full story, call us about an e-Subscription. 970-854-2811