Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Phillips is one of 15 Colorado counties named primary natural disaster areas due to drought PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 15 counties in Colorado as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.

Those counties are Baca, Crowley, Kit Carson, Otero, Pueblo, Bent, El Paso, Las Animas, Phillips, Sedgwick, Cheyenne, Kiowa, Lincoln, Prowers and Yuma.

“Our hearts go out to those Colorado farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack.

“President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers and rural communities through these difficult times,” he said. “We’re also telling Colorado producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood.”

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Colorado also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are: Arapahoe, Custer, Elbert, Huerfano, Teller, Costilla, Douglas, Fremont, Logan and Washington

To read the full article, consider our e-Subscription. Call us at 970-854-2811 for details!

Holyoke Enterprise January 30, 2014