Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Beauprez, Buck win primaries PDF Print E-mail
Written by Brenda Johnson Brandt   

Bob Beauprez and Ken Buck won the GOP gubernatorial and 4th Congressional District primaries, respectively, in the June 24 Colorado primary election.

Phillips County Republicans also favored the two candidates in the unofficial vote count released last week.

Phillips County Clerk and Recorder Beth Zilla reported a 46 percent voter turnout in Phillips County in the June 24 primary. A total of 889 ballots were counted from the 1,932 that were mailed out.

This county’s turnout was higher than the overall statewide count.

Beauprez will face Democratic incumbent Governor John Hickenlooper in the Nov. 4 general election.

Meanwhile, Buck and Democratic candidate Vic Meyers will appear on the November ballot for 4th Congressional District for the seat being vacated by Republican Cory Gardner.

Gardner was uncontested in the primary for U.S. Senate and seeks to unseat Democratic incumbent Mark Udall in November.

Other races were not contested in the primaries but will see candidates from both parties in November.

Beauprez won 30.2 percent of the statewide GOP primary vote for governor and nabbed 35 percent of the Phillips County vote.

Tom Tancredo received 26.7 percent of the statewide vote and 27.2 percent in this county. Scott Gessler took 23.2 percent statewide and 18.5 percent in Phillips County. Mike Kopp won 19.9 percent statewide and 19.3 percent in this county.

In the 4th Congressional District Republican primary, Buck garnered 44.2 percent statewide and 51.6 percent in Phillips County.

Scott Renfroe took 23.9 percent of the vote in the state and 19.2 percent in this county. Barbara Kirkmeyer won 16.4 percent statewide and 17.5 percent locally. Steve Laffey netted 15.5 percent statewide and 11.8 percent here.

Locally, Republican candidates not only didn’t have primary opposition but also have no challengers in November.

Those candidates on the ballot are Joe Kinnie, county commissioner District 1; Beth Zilla, county clerk and recorder; Linda Statz, county treasurer; Doug Kamery, county assessor; and Rob Urbach, county sheriff.

Holyoke Enterprise July 3, 2014