Article Image Alt Text

New Holyoke chapter of National Honor Society officers for 2019-20 are pictured from left, front row, Shianne Willmon and Emily Jelden; and back row, Victoria Race, Jacqueline Valenzuela and Slaten Burris. — The Holyoke enterprise | Johnson Publications

Academics rewarded at JR/SR high program Monday

    Academic achievement was applauded Monday, May 6, when students in Holyoke JR/SR High were recognized for excellence in the classroom during the 2018-19 school year.
    National Honor Society members hosted and conducted the ceremony in the HHS auditorium.
    NHS officer Savannah Burris welcomed those attending, and chapter members opened the program by introducing staff members with a brief bio for each of them.
    Senior Keegan Shaw was presented top music awards in the opening portion of the program.
    Maury Kramer represented vocal music director Marcia Dalton to recognize Shaw with the National Choral Award. Band director Aaron Cottam then announced Shaw as this year’s recipient of the John Philip Sousa award.
    Seaboard Food representatives were present to recognize local scholarship winners Kyra Loutensock and Kaylee Camblin.
    At the close of the program, the new NHS officers for 2019-20 were announced as follows: Shianne Willmon, president; Emily Jelden, vice president; Jacqueline Valenzuela, secretary; Victoria Race, treasurer; and Slaten Burris, Student Council representative.

The full article is available in our e-Edition. Click here to subscribe.

Holyoke Enterprise

970-854-2811 (Phone)
970-854-2232 (Fax)

130 N Interocean Ave
PO Box 297
Holyoke CO 80734