Newly elected members of Holyoke School District Re-1J Board of Education take their oath of office from outgoing board president Kris Camblin at the board’s reorganization meeting Monday, Nov. 13. Pictured from left are Camblin, Pat Wiebers, Trampas Hutches and Jon Kleve. — Johnson Publications

Board reorganizes with new officers

    Oaths of office were taken by Holyoke School District Re-1J board members Pat Wiebers, Trampas Hutches and Jon Kleve at a special meeting Monday, Nov. 13, in the board meeting room.
    Outgoing president Kris Camblin administered the oaths to swear in the board members who were elected to four-year terms Nov. 7.
    A reception to acknowledge the service of outgoing board members Kris Camblin and Nici Akey was held prior to the special meeting. Camblin served 11 years and was ineligible for re-election due to term limits, and Akey chose not to seek re-election. Both were presented gifts from the district.
    Officers for the next two years were elected in the board reorganization during the special meeting.
    Wiebers was elected board president in a 4-3 vote over Dennis Herman, and Dusty Sprague defeated Herman 4-3 in the vote for vice president. Summer Maloney was the only nominee for secretary and Hutches the only one nominated for treasurer, so both were elected.
    Committee appointments were made as follows: Herman and Hutches, Budget and Facilities; Maloney and Sprague, District Accountability and Advisory Committee/Standard of Excellence; Sprague, Leadership Team; Hutches, Board of Cooperative Educational Services board; Herman, Colorado Association of School Boards delegate; Maloney, Staff Support and Wellness Committee; Lucas Schlachter, Ag Advisory Committee; Herman, Business Advisory Committee; Maloney, Family and Consumer Science Advisory Committee; and Jon Kleve, Scholarship Trust.
    The next regular board meeting is set for Tuesday, Nov. 21, at 7 p.m.

Holyoke Enterprise

970-854-2811 (Phone)
970-854-2232 (Fax)

130 N Interocean Ave
PO Box 297
Holyoke CO 80734