Kammer named principal at elementary

    Former Holyoke teacher and current principal at Wray Elementary, Andrea Kammer of Holyoke was hired as principal at Holyoke Elementary School for 2018-19 at the May 1 Board of Education meeting.
    She and her husband, Marcus, attended the board meeting to be welcomed by the board and administration. Kammer’s 11-month contract begins Aug. 1 and includes a salary of $69,000.
    Current elementary principal Kyle Stumpf will be moving into the superintendent role in the local school district July 1.
    Kammer has over 13 years of education experience in three different school districts. That includes Baker Central School in Fort Morgan, Holyoke JR/SR high and elementary schools, and Wray Elementary School.
    She has served as principal in Wray for the past three and a half years.
    Kammer earned her bachelor’s degree in elementary education with emphasis in mathematics from the University of Northern Colorado.
    She obtained her principal license endorsement from Adams State University and has completed two years of a Master of Arts in teaching from UNC.
New board member sought
    With the recent resignation of board member Dennis Herman, the board held a work session prior to last week’s meeting to discuss timelines for filling the position. The vacancy was officially declared at the May 1 meeting.
    Applications for interested citizens are available at the school administration office and are due back by 4 p.m. Wednesday, May 30.
    Some or all of the prospective candidates will be interviewed at a public meeting Tuesday, June 5. As the final step, candidates must submit a sworn affidavit attesting to their qualification for office by 4 p.m. Tuesday, June 19.
    To be eligible for election, a person must be a registered elector of the school district for at least 12 consecutive months prior to the date of the appointment.
    Any person who has been convicted of a sexual offense against a child is ineligible to serve on the board.
    The person appointed to the vacant position will serve until the next regular election in November of 2019.
Contracts considered

    Prior to approving contracts for 2018-19, the board accepted resignations for JR/SR high special education teacher John Zilla and band director Chris Lampkin, effective at the end of their current contracts.
    Lampkin said he has received a diversity fellowship/teaching assistantship at the University of Iowa and will be pursuing a Master of Arts in flute performance at Voxman School of Music.
    Additionally, transportation assistant Helen Miller submitted her resignation, effective July 1.
    A 27-minute executive session was held prior to contract approval, with a portion of that closed session including JR/SR high language arts teacher Josh Schroetlin.
    The board voted to nonrenew Schroetlin’s contract, so he was not offered employment for 2018-19.
    Five probationary teachers were moved to nonprobationary status. They are Brittany Dirks, Joann Goss, Kaitlin Hansberry, Andrea Schlachter and Amber Schroetlin.
    Probationary teachers were approved for 2018-19, including Shauna Brown, Stephanie Chaney, James French, Jade Goldenstein, Tancy King, Kathleen Kropp, Zach Kubik, Lori Nelson, Hannah Peterson, Tina Rana, Kareen San Jose and Melanie Wheeler.
    Nonprobationary teacher renewals were made for Cynthia Bahler, Nic Balog, John Baumgartner, Cindi Beavers, Yesenia Bencomo, Kimberlee Bennett, Stefan Betley, Heather Bieber, Ashley Clayton, Marcia Dalton, Carly Daniel, Scott Dille, Sam Distefano, Kerri Gardner, Wendy Grothman, Maury Kramer, Laura Loutensock, Cristine Mallari, Nancy Miles, Karen Ortner, Kristie Pelle, Angela Powell, Tarah Priddy, Sandra Rahe, Kari Sandquist, Lynn Schneider, Rhonda Smith and Theresa Tharp.
    Classified staff employment recommendations were made for 2018-19 for Brenda Krueger, district administrative director; Joan Price, HR/payroll director; Ben Rahe, budget and finance director; Perry Ingram, director of technology; Chandra Parker, district technology instructional coordinator.
    Dusty McConnell, maintenance/grounds; Stacey Krogmeier and Natali Goytia, secretaries.
    Kimberly Young, Mark Groshans, Fletcher Hinck, Scott Murray and Dave Johnson, transportation; Griselda Carrasco, Guadalupe Montes, Albino Nuñez, Rosa Ronquillo and Juana Ruiz, custodians.
    Terri Biersdorfer, Tracey Cordova, Yazmin Diaz, Melisa Hunter, Jessica Johnson, Aydaly Juarez, Madison King, Sasha Lopez, Johana Nevarez, Leticia Penzing, Christy Shafer and Ana Trejo, paraprofessionals.
Simpson clarifies info on clay target shooting club
    Recapping a March 22 presentation requesting trapshooting as an intramural club sport at HHS, Tracy Simpson addressed the board about some questions she’s received.
    She said at this point they’re not looking at any school transportation, as parents will transport the kids. She also noted they’re not seeking any school funding and it’s not anticipated that participants would miss school time as shoots would be on the weekends and evenings.
    She acknowledged the logic of waiting until the new principal is on board before a decision is made but said some of the kids would like to be involved in the state contest in June, if possible.
    Later in the meeting, Superintendent John McCleary cited board policies with regard to student organizations/clubs. He encouraged the board to continue working through this project.
Other business
    In other business May 1, the school board:
    — Heard a delightful and thorough report from 21st Century Skills students on their blessing box project for people to anonymously donate and accept products/foods from the box to be set up at the Phillips County Resource Center at 127 E. Denver St.
    Students reporting at the board meeting were Cash Adler, Mackenzie Golden, Josie Herman, Tyler Lamm, Kyra Loutensock, Dominique Penzing, Keegan Shaw and Taeryn Trumper, with teacher Karen Ortner.
    — Acknowledged two gifts, including memorial money donated to the TV Productions department by Chris and Susie Bieber, in memory of their son, Christopher. Also, Carolyn Marada of Julesburg donated a set of women’s golf clubs, bag, balls, towels, tees, pull cart, cleaning kit and miscellaneous men’s clubs.
    — Held a two-hour executive session at the close of the meeting for the purpose of legal counsel.

Holyoke Enterprise

970-854-2811 (Phone)
970-854-2232 (Fax)

130 N Interocean Ave
PO Box 297
Holyoke CO 80734