With the Phillips County food assistance voucher program now underway, residents are reminded of a few guidelines.
Fiery crash on Eastern Plains claims 8
Tyler Vermeulen, Daniel Schroetlin and Josh Vermeulen, pictured from left, use the cookie cutters of their choice to make unique and tasty treats.
Sign up for fair parade
The building at 131 W. Emerson St. was built by Charlie P. Peterson in 1949, with Aug. 15 being the United States Post Office’s first day in the new building. The building was coated with a gray stucco finish, giving the outside an almost white appearance. Entrance to the public lobby was located at the southeast corner of the building. Sitting to the west of the post office was the Scouts of America building, formerly the Grandview schoolhouse before being moved in to Holyoke in October 1948 to be used as a meeting place for local Girl Scouts and Boy Scouts. The USPS was moved to its current location on Interocean Avenue on March 16, 1960, and the Scout building was torn down in May 1981 to make way for the new First National Bank (currently Bank of the West) building. — source: Phillips County Museum
Five Years Ago
July 9, 2015