Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
FFA honors achievements at annual award ceremony PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

After much hard work in the 2009-10 school year, Holyoke FFA members took time to recognize these efforts and achievements at their annual awards ceremony Tuesday, May 18 at the elementary school.

Following a spaghetti meal, FFA chapter officers and advisor Troy Mayfield presented awards to members. Appreciation was also noted for those who have supported the chapter this year.

Guest speakers at the achievement night included State FFA President Josh Sonnenberg and Colorado Senator Greg Brophy.

Greenhand FFA degrees were awarded to Margarita Fierro, Javier Juarez, Deyten Klein, Spencer Kotch, Caitlyn Kramer, Michael Kuehl, Trae McCallum, Alyssa Roll, Makaila Stapleton, Caleb Kafka, Michael Stark, Annie Daniel, KrisAnna Ham, Austin Killin, Francisco Diaz and Broc Pelle.

Caitlyn Kramer was selected for this year’s Star Greenhand award for being the first-year member who is most active in the chapter, who demonstrates leadership and who has a strong supervised agricultural experience program.

Recipients of the Chapter FFA degree included Skyler Mayfield, Coleton Spitz, Reid Baumgartner, Mariah Struckmeyer, Erin Lebsack and Amanda Ferguson.

The Star Chapter Farmer award, presented to a second-year student who shows outstanding leadership and progressive agricultural skills, was awarded to Mariah Struckmeyer.

Honorary FFA degrees were awarded to parents and community members who have made outstanding contributions to the chapter. Recipients of the honor were Rick and Kristi Krueger, Van and Denise Swanson, Rance and Connie Ferguson, Darrell Tomky and Jeff Tharp.

Senior Evan Swanson was honored with the DeKalb award. This award is often considered the highest honor an agricultural student can receive on the local level. Each year a senior FFA member receives the DeKalb award for excelling in scholarship, leadership and their supervised agricultural experience program.

Proficiency awards presented on Tuesday include:

Erin Lebsack, gold, beef production; Alex Quintana, bronze, poultry production; Annie Daniel, bronze, vegetable production; Margarita Fierro, bronze, vegetable production; Mariah Struckmeyer, silver in poultry production, gold in beef production; Reid Baumgartner, silver in ag mechanics and fabrication, silver in grain production placement.

Caitlyn Kramer, silver, swine production; Emma Adams, gold, beef production; Caleb Kafka, gold in poultry production, silver in beef production, bronze in specialty animal production, bronze in ag sales; Trae McCallum, gold in beef production, bronze in swine production.

Coleton Spitz, bronze in wildlife and outdoor recreation, silver in beef production, silver in specialty animal production; Skyler Mayfield, silver, specialty animal production; Patricia Adams, gold in specialty animal production, silver in agricultural sales; Parker Redfern, bronze, diversified crop production.

Michael Stark, bronze, agricultural sales; Brian Strong, gold in swine production, bronze in agricultural services; Makaila Stapleton, bronze, equine science; Austin Killin, bronze in diversified crop production and wildlife and outdoor recreation; Francisco Diaz, silver, specialty animal production.

Lauren Blomme, bronze, agricultural services; Broc Pelle, silver, specialty animal production; Garrett Bueltell, bronze, wildlife and outdoor recreation; Deyten Klein, bronze, turfgrass management; Michael Irons, bronze, turfgrass management; Payin Becerra, bronze, poultry science research; Dustin Carrick, bronze, poultry science research.

The evening concluded with the installation of new chapter officers: Lauren Blomme, president; Patricia Adams, vice president; Mariah Struckmeyer, secretary; Coleton Spitz, treasurer; Garrett Bueltell, reporter; and Caleb Kafka, sentinel. Executive committee members for 2010-11 are Emma Adams, Caitlyn Kramer, Reid Baumgartner, Trae McCallum and Austin Killin.