Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
AWANA celebrated at year-end program at First Baptist Church PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   
    Preschool through 6th grade youth who participated in Holyoke’s AWANA meetings in 2008-09 were recognized at a year-end celebration Wednesday, April 29 at First Baptist Church in Holyoke.
    Darrell Tomky led Wednesday’s program for Commander Kevin Haidle. Tomky thanked the many adult teachers and volunteers who make the AWANA (Approved Workmen Are Not Ashamed) program successful.
    AWANA is a nondenominational children’s ministry that meets weekly from October through April in Holyoke. It includes Bible verse memorization, game time and story time.
    Pete Markle was the featured speaker for the program, addressing three areas: why scripture is learned in AWANA, what it means to say one is a Christian and where we go from here. He encouraged youth to get connected with a church and to remember that being a Christian is about a personal relationship with Jesus Christ.
    During the year-end celebration, Deanne Haidle led the youth groups in singing.
    Awards and participation certificates were presented by leaders of the Cubbies, Sparks and T&T (Truth and Training) clubs. Giving the awards were Kim Kingman, Cubbies; Susie Vasa, Sparks; and Phil Vasa and Julie Wiebke, T&T Club.
    T&T Club members earning book awards for the year were Nicole Wilkening, second book; and Anna Jelden, Brook Prottsman, Lori McWilliams, Megan Parker, Tristan Sullivan and Spencer Bohlender, first books.
    Sparks book award winners were Savannah Burris, Slaten Burris and Brenna Sullivan, second books; and Alexeya Bohlender, Blake Mosenteen, Emily Jelden, Jesse Vasa (review also), Kelyn Goldenstein, Makenzie Martin, Mason King, Novi Lock, Reghan Archibeque, Rylan Archibeque, Rylee Schneller, Seth Watson, Tate Dille and Ashley Rahe, first books.
    Cubbies who earned book awards were Ethan Johnson, Levi Dille and Danielle Wilkening, third book awards; Isaiah Rahe, Ethan Schneller, Kailar Hayes, Ava Lock and Erin Andersen, second books; and Chase Johnson, Tucker Keith, Angelina Solorzano, Anna Hayes, Elby Kropp, Ryann Archibeque, Karla Martinez, Jessica Owens, Ty Sandquist and Caden Sporhase, first book awards.
    Cubbie participants were Wade Martin, Kristin Vieselmeyer, Shaylynn King, Sabryn Burris and Tyla Knutson.
    Sparks participation awards went to Monique Ruybal, Caleb Heinitz, Colton Morehead, Fantasia Ruybal, Matthew Oberle, Nathan Rodriguez, Oceria Martinez,  Tate Sebastian, Serena Almeida, Sloane Bishop, Taeryn Trumper, Taylor Trumper, Wyett Martin and Andrea Becerra.
    Participation awards went to T&T Clubbers Christina Conde, Hallee Conde, Isabelle Heinitz, Jasmine Cazares, Josilyn Lutze, Kaitlyn Kent, Kaylee Ham, Lauren Wilkening, Makenna Bishop, Marissa Lujan, Rebecca Owens, Shorty Thompson, Taylor Goldenstein and Kaylee Michael.
    Also Alex Becerra, Angel Madrid Dennis Amaya, Drew Stewart, Gunnar Kroeger, Isidro Juarez, Isidro Orona, James Oberle, Jesus A. Martinez, Jesus M. Martinez, Luke Stewart, Monse Conde, Noah King, Norman Mendoza, Oscar Hernandez, Ramiro Iniguez, Trey Bennett and Aaron Michael.