Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
PIE announces winners in annual reading contest PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Students in grades kindergarten through fifth-grade participated in the Partners in Education annual reading contest. Pictured are those who participated in the contest. They gathered Wednesday morning, Dec. 19 to find out who won in each grade.  

—Enterprise photo

Students at Holyoke Elementary School absolutely smashed last year’s numbers when it came to reading during this year’s third annual Partners in Education (PIE) reading contest.

Last year, 28 students read for a grand total of 27,023 minutes. This year, the numbers were way up with 74 students reading a total of 52,269 minutes—or 871.2 hours or 36.3 days.

Participants gathered Wednesday, Dec. 19 for a photo and to find out who won in each grade.

Those with the most minutes in each class were presented with a prize by PIE member Jessica Johnson.

Winners include: kindergarten, Cody Maloney 970 minutes; first-grade, Braxton Speicher 655; second-grade, Kevin Hermosillo 1,439; third-grade, Ethan Johnson 2,520; fourth-grade, Jacquelyn Gonzales 2,810; and fifth-grade, Victor Baeza 1,920.

Those participating this year were kindergartners Tyler Bergstrom, Michel Vega Juarez, Braxten Churchwell, Isabel Gordon, Ava Koberstein, Cody Maloney, Alicia Torres and Reece Weatherly; first-graders Isaiah Brownfield, Ty Guthrie, Braxton Speicher, Chase Johnson, Katelyn Kropp, Hannah Lindholm, Tayla Martin, Caden Sporhase and Cash Weber; second-graders Kevin Hermosillo, Evan Jones, Cooper Goldenstein, Elby Kropp, Summer Martin, Tamara Penzing and Dakota Weatherly; third-graders Tristen Ferguson, Diego Jimenez, Rachel Krueger, Jonathan Quintana, Mia Secrist, David Speicher, Miles Sprague, Joseph Telck, Marysol Astorga, Jaime Avila, Lauren Herman, Kyleigh Jaeger, Ethan Johnson, Cade Killin, Kaison Kinnie, Kenneth Lindholm, Josephine Schlachter, Aidyn Shafer, Isaac Strauss, Kristin Vieselmeyer and Danielle Wilkening; fourth-graders Llaneli Barajas, Amy Mackay, Chloie Metzger, Ashley Rahe, Jacquelyn Gonzales, Kylie Purkeypile, Nadia Santisteban and Jesse Vasa; and fifth-graders Victor Baeza, Lane Guthrie, Isaiah Hatton, Emily Jelden, Lali Marquez, Nain Vasquez, Shianne Willmon, Ally Bohlender, Lauren Bergner, Hunter Bergstrom, Kylie Brink, Slaten Burris, Makayla Knutson, Sergio Ortega, Sara Razo, Tristen Roll, Xander Speicher, Seth Watson, Jackie Valenzuela, Alexis Vega and Alondra Zapata.

Holyoke Enterprise December 27, 2012