Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
FFA celebrates successful year PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

A large crowd of parents, students and community members gathered Friday, April 19 at Holyoke High School to recognize an outstanding year for the Holyoke FFA chapter.

Following a meal, chapter officers led the awards ceremony to honor the hard work accomplished during the past year.

It was evident that new vocational agriculture instructor Guy Kuntz had a huge, positive impact on these students, and it was with regret that he announced he will not be teaching at HHS next year. Students noted their appreciation (even with hugs and some tears) for his leadership as chapter advisor this year.

Senior Trae McCallum, at left, is this year’s DEKALB award winner
for the Holyoke FFA chapter. Also earning awards are freshmen
Sidney Struckmeyer, center, and Austin Vieselmeyer, at right,
winners of the Star Greenhand award. Not pictured is sophomore
Star Chapter Degree recipient Nicholas Ortner.  

—Enterprise photo

Awards for FFA Greenhand Degree recipients were earned by Daniel Bencomo, Makenna Bishop, Alyssa Cordova, Camille Elliott, Taylor Goldenstein, Ramiro Iniguez, Cavin Kramer, Cody Lamm, Alan Madrid, Taylor Mayden, Javier Rojo, Luke Stewart, Sidney Struckmeyer and Austin Vieselmeyer.

This year’s Star Greenhand recipients were Vieselmeyer and Struckmeyer.

Chapter Degrees were awarded to Stefani Razo, Nathan Miles, Nicholas Ortner and Kody Timm, with Ortner receiving the Star Chapter Degree.

Senior Trae McCallum earned the DEKALB award, presented by DEKALB dealer Aaron Powell.

A new award this year, the Blue and Gold Award, went to Ag Power Equipment Co. and representative Curt Parker for their contributions to the FFA chapter this year.

Outgoing FFA chapter president Makayla Spitz, at right,
hands over the gavel to 2013-14 president Kelsey Kramer.

—Enterprise photo

Community members Allyn Robinson, Erik and Michelle Vieselmeyer, Keith and Diane Sagehorn, Jon King and Rusty Triplette received honorary Chapter Degrees.

Outstanding classmen were recognized for animal science, Makayla Spitz and Andrew Kent; ag mechanics, Elissa Baker, McCallum, Ryan Krogmeier and Stewart; natural resources, Elliott and Wyatt Bishop; ag business, Logan Tharp and Jacinda Krueger; and introduction to ag, Josilyn Lutze and Mayden.

FFA chapter members earning letters were McCallum, Spitz, Tharp, Mayden, Tanner Smith, Lutze, Kelsey Kramer, Struckmeyer, Kody Timm, Lamm, Nathan Miles, Wyatt Bishop, Alexis Lenhart, Cavin Kramer, Ortner, Krueger, Rojo, Vieselmeyer, Kent and Goldenstein.

The awards night concluded with the installation of new officers for the 2013-14 school year. Officers are Kelsey Kramer, president; Ortner, vice president; Spitz, secretary; Krueger, treasurer; Vieselmeyer, reporter; Smith, sentinel; and executive committee members Kent, Wyatt Bishop, Lutze and Struckmeyer.

Newly elected FFA officers for 2013-14 are pictured from left, front row, Josilyn Lutze, Jacinda Krueger, Kelsey Kramer and Makayla Spitz; and back row, Andrew Kent, Wyatt Bishop, Tanner Smith, Sidney Struckmeyer and Austin Vieselmeyer. Not pictured is Nicholas Ortner. 

 —Enterprise photo

Holyoke Enterprise April 25, 2013